Telangana Gets 21 New Districts –

Mukesh Jindal
Written by Mukesh Jindal

In the new administrative reform, the Telangana government has created 21 more districts in the state. With this, the state now has a total number of 31 districts. The government had decided to create 17 districts but following a demand from Telangana people, it settled on 21 new districts.



The Telangana Rashtra Samiti had promised the creation of 14 new districts during the 2014 elections but after it came to power, the Chief Minister initially agreed for the issuance of notification for 17 new districts. Ultimately, due to protests, agitations and demand for new districts, four more were added.

At the stroke of 11.13 am, the Chief Minister amid chanting of hymns cut the ribbon of the new District Collectorate complex in Siddipet Town, which incidentally became a Police Commissionerate also. Simultaneously, State Ministers and other senior leaders inaugurated the new districts across Telangana.

A huge rally was taken out to mark the occasion while excited locals burst fire crackers in other districts to usher in the new districts.
Addressing an impressive gathering after inaugurating Siddipet district, Mr Chandrasekhar Rao went down memory lane recalling that he grew up in the hands of the local people. “You sent me to achieve Telangana and I came back with the new State,” he said adding that with the blessings of the people, he was confident of developing Telangana.

About Telangana

The state was formed as the 29th state of India on June 2 in the year 2014. It was sliced out of Andhra Pradesh and had only 10 districts.

Earlier it included these Districts

Hyderabad, Mahabubnagar, Ranga Reddy, Karimnagar, Medak, Adilabad, Warangal, Nizamabad, Khammam and Nalgonda.

A list of 21 new Districts:

Here is a list of New Districts in Telangana

  1. Siddipet
  2. Jayashankar
  3. Jangaon
  4. Jagtial
  5. Yadadri
  6. Warangal
  7. Peddapally
  8. Sangareddy
  9. Kamareddy
  10. Mancheriyal
  11. Kothagudem
  12. Vikarabad
  13. Rajanna
  14. Asifabad
  15. Suryapet
  16. Wanaparthy
  17. Nirmal
  18. Mahabubabad
  19. Nagarkurnool
  20. Jogulamba
  21. Malkajgiri.

As per the Telangana government, each of these districts will have a population of two lakhs to four lakhs. However, Hyderabad will have a little more population. 25 new revenue divisions, 125 new mandals, 23 new police subdivisions, 28 new circles, and 91 police stations are also formed by the government.

About the author

Mukesh Jindal

Mukesh Jindal

My name is Mukesh Jindal, and I am from New Delhi, India. I am an engineer by profession. I am employed by an IT company in which I work. My topics of interest include technology, mobile, and apps.

Leave a Comment